Set in more than 30 acres of parkland, Baysgarth House, a Grade II* listed building, was an ancestral home of the Nelthorpe family between 1620 and 1792 when it was sold to William Graburn, after which it passed through a succession of owners until it was bought in 1889 by barrister Robert Wright Taylor whose father, also Robert, lived at New Hall on Newport.
Robert Wright Taylor’s son, Stanbury, was killed at Ypres in September 1917 and a memorial to him is fixed on the main gate of the park. In 1930, following Robert Wright Taylor’s death his daughter donated both Baysgarth House and its park to Barton upon Humber Urban District Council for use by the community. The house and park have remained in public ownership since that time.
In 2004 the town’s Community, Heritage Arts and Media Project (Champ) Ltd. took over the management of the house including its buildings, museum, collections, and archives. Staffed mainly by a team of dedicated volunteers, Baysgarth House Museum celebrates the lives of local people through permanent and temporary exhibitions and projects.
The Museum’s opening hours are:
November – February: Saturday and Sunday, 12.00pm – 4.00pm
March – October: Thursday to Sunday, 12.00pm – 4.00pm
Baysgarth House Museum, Baysgarth Park, Caistor Road, Barton upon Humber, DN18 6AH
Address: Baysgarth House Museum, Baysgarth Park, Caistor Road, Barton upon Humber, DN18 6AH
Telephone: 01652 637568
Hidden History tells of Barton upon Humber's fascinating history through a collection of media including original and authentic photographs, video clips, narration and text.
DOWNLOAD THE APP